Emerging Markets: An emerging market country has an economy that’s becoming more advanced, with liquidity in local debt and share markets, some form of market exchange and regulation. MSCI includes 24 countries in its EM index: Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Russia, Qatar, South Africa, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, and United Arab Emirates.




ETF (Exchange Traded Fund): An ETF, or exchange traded fund, tracks an index, a commodity, bonds, or a basket of assets, just like an index fund. Unlike mutual funds, an ETF is traded on a stock exchange, like a share.


Eurozone: Countries that are part of the European Union and have the euro as their currency.


Go back to the main Definitions list here.